Pinterest tracking pixel
If you are having difficulty navigating this website please contact us at member.services@bookofthemonth.com.
Oops! The page didn’t load right. Please refresh and try again.
All booksHistorical fictionThe Final Revival of Opal & Nev
The Final Revival of Opal & Nev by Dawnie Walton
Historical fiction

The Final Revival of Opal & Nev

Debut
We love supporting debut authors. Congrats, Dawnie Walton, on your first book!
Early Release
This is an early release that's only available to our members—the rest of the world has to wait to read it.

by Dawnie Walton

Quick take

For fans of Daisy Jones & The Six: a rollicking tale with equal parts rock 'n' roll and Black feminist punk spirit.

Good to know

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_MultipleNarrators

    Multiple viewpoints

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Acclaim

    Critically acclaimed

  • Illustrated icon, Icons_Buzzy

    Buzzy

  • Illustrated icon, Icon_Writerlife

    Writer's life

Why I love it

Aly Raisman
Gold Medal Gymnast and Advocate

The Final Revival of Opal & Nev: From page one of this fictional story written as a series of interviews, I felt like I was right there watching everything unfold. I had to keep reminding myself that the characters weren’t actually real-life rock stars and that I couldn’t look them up online!

Meet S. Sunny Curtis. She’s an award-winning writer and editor-in-chief with complicated ties to famed musician Opal Jewel. And who is Opal? She’s a singing icon who is unapologetically herself and one-half of the short-lived duo, Opal & Nev. When Sunny begins her research, there are still questions swirling about what happened between Opal & Nev and rival band the Bond Brothers all those years ago. I admire S. Sunny Curtis’s determination and bravery as she explores the story she swore she would never pursue. And when she uncovers a new revelation, the narrative changes forever.

This gripping novel reads like an exposé and a tribute at the same time. I couldn’t put the book down as I kept learning more about the whole cast of characters who share their personal stories as well as their varying perspectives on what really happened. An unforgettable page-turner, The Final Revival of Opal & Nev is a uniquely-written examination of racism, family tensions, the music industry, and American society of the 1970s.

Read less

Synopsis

Opal is a fiercely independent young woman pushing against the grain in her style and attitude, Afro-punk before that term existed. Coming of age in Detroit, she can’t imagine settling for a 9-to-5 job—despite her unusual looks, Opal believes she can be a star. So when the aspiring British singer/songwriter Neville Charles discovers her at a bar’s amateur night, she takes him up on his offer to make rock music together for the fledgling Rivington Records.

In early seventies New York City, just as she’s finding her niche as part of a flamboyant and funky creative scene, a rival band signed to her label brandishes a Confederate flag at a promotional concert. Opal’s bold protest and the violence that ensues set off a chain of events that will not only change the lives of those she loves, but also be a deadly reminder that repercussions are always harsher for women, especially Black women, who dare to speak their truth.

Decades later, as Opal considers a 2016 reunion with Nev, music journalist S. Sunny Shelton seizes the chance to curate an oral history about her idols. Sunny thought she knew most of the stories leading up to the cult duo’s most politicized chapter. But as her interviews dig deeper, a nasty new allegation from an unexpected source threatens to blow up everything.

Provocative and chilling, The Final Revival of Opal & Nev features a backup chorus of unforgettable voices, a heroine the likes of which we’ve not seen in storytelling, and a daring structure, and introduces a bold new voice in contemporary fiction.

Read less

Preview

Get an early look from the first pages of The Final Revival of Opal & Nev.

Read a sample →

Historical fiction
  • Lady Tan’s Circle of Women
  • The Women
  • All We Were Promised
  • The Mayor of Maxwell Street
  • The Great Divide
  • The Storm We Made
  • The Disappearance of Astrid Bricard
  • Lessons in Chemistry
  • The Frozen River
  • What We Kept to Ourselves
  • The River We Remember
  • Take My Hand
  • The Last Russian Doll
  • The First Ladies
  • The House Is On Fire
  • River Sing Me Home
  • The People We Keep
  • The Attic Child
  • Malibu Rising
  • The Book of Longings
  • Hester
  • The Final Revival of Opal & Nev
  • The Nightingale
  • Daisy Jones & The Six
  • The Lincoln Highway
  • The Secret Book of Flora Lea
  • Did You Hear About Kitty Karr?
  • The Circus Train
  • Peach Blossom Spring
  • Hang the Moon
  • Booth
  • The Good Left Undone
  • Sisters in Arms
  • The Perishing
  • The Postmistress of Paris
  • The Family
  • Things We Lost to the Water
  • The Spectacular
  • Still Life
  • Send for Me
  • The Magnolia Palace
  • The Bookbinder
  • China Room
  • Summer of '69
  • This Tender Land
  • Atomic Love
  • All the Light We Cannot See
  • The Vanishing Half
  • Outlawed
  • The Four Winds
  • The Giver of Stars
  • Independence
  • The Fountains of Silence
  • Libertie
  • Queen of Thieves
  • The Great Believers
  • The Clockmaker's Daughter
  • A Gentleman in Moscow
  • The Great Alone
  • The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
  • The Paris Hours
  • The Heart's Invisible Furies
  • Rules of Civility
  • Circling the Sun
  • The Moor's Account
  • Jacqueline in Paris
  • Don't Cry for Me
  • The Christie Affair
  • Bloomsbury Girls
  • The Wedding Dress Sewing Circle
  • Bronze Drum